Banshee 2.9.1 represents the culmination of 17 developers’ five-month work at
There are 21 translators, and dozens bug reporters and testers. This is a new development
Release, the second 2.9.x release leading to our future stable
Release Banshee 3.0.

Banshee 2.9.1

This release is compatible with versions
GStreamer version 1.0 and newer.
The revamped version of the Windows platform (which was previously only available on the Windows platform) now works with the upgraded
GStreamerSharp bindings (GObject-Introspection based, and capable of
The default binding is GStreamer version 1.0 and newer.

This paves the way to finish the long-standing goal of completely
To lower the code, we are removing languages such as C.
Reduce complexity to reduce the barriers of entry for new contributors.
increase stability.

You can still use the optional unmanaged GStreamer backend, but
Before you do, we encourage that you provide us with any feedback.
You may also write to us with any questions or concerns you have (for example, reporting bugs).
We will no longer use this forum or mailing list.
Very soon.
You can now use it on your desktop by simply clicking
Media Panel is a menu option in the View menu.
Now enabled by default). Although there are some visual issues that need to be resolved, it is now usable.
This is a sample screenshot:

Unfortunately the major architectural change to GTK3 caused some problems that we’re still looking into:

The following people directly contributed to the release of this version of Banshee. It wouldn’t have been possible without their help!

The people listed below contributed updated translations for this release. Without them, our project’s reach would be much more limited.

Aaron Bockover, Abner Silva, Adam Lofts, Age Bosma, Alan McGovern,
Alex Launi and Alberto Gonzalez are also known as Alex Bennee.
Alex Mauer is Alex Willmy. Alex Willmy is Alexander Hixon.
Alexander Kojevnikov, Alexandros Frantzis, Alp Toker, Anders Petersson,
Andre Klapper, Andrea Cimitan, Andreas Neustifter, Andreas Nilsson,
Andrew Conkling, Andrey Gankov, Andres G. Aragoneses,
Andres G. Aragoneses, Andy Midgette, Andy Street, Aran Cox, Arthur Carli,
Arun Raghavan, Aurelien Mino, Aydemir Ulas Sahin, Ben Maurer,
Benjamin Valero Espinosa Bertrand Lorentz Bill Dawson Bob Copeland
Bojan Rajkovic, Brad Taylor, Brandon Perry, Brian Lucas, Brian Nickel,
Chase Geigle (Chow Loong Jin), Brian Teague and Chris Howie.
Chris Jones, Chris Lahey, Chris Toshok, Chris Turchin, Christian Hergert,
Christian Krause, Christoph Burgdorf, Christopher James Halse Rogers,
Claude Paroz, Cody Russell, Corec, Cosmin Bau, Dan Wilson, Dan Winship
Daniel Munkton, Daniel Siegel, David Nielsen, David Spreen, David Stone,
Diego E. Petteno, Diego Fernandez, Dinh Ngoc Tu, Dmitriy Petukhov,
Dougal Stanton, Dustin C. Hatch, Eitan Isaacson, Elena Grassi,
Eoin Hennessy, Eric Butler, Erik Schmidt, Fabian Jost, Fabrice Bellet,
Felipe Almeida Lessa, Felipe Castillo, Fernando Casanova, Florent Thoumie,
Frank Ziegler, Fredrik Hedberg, Felix Velasco, Gabriel Burt,
Garrett LeSage, Ghislain Lacroix, Gotz Waschk, Haitao Feng, Hajime Mizuno,
Iain Lane and Harold Schreckengost are also known as Hans Oesterholt.
Igor Guerrero Fonseca, Ilya Konstantinov, Ivan N. Zlatev, Jack Deslippe,
Jakub Steiner, James Boocock, James Otting, James Willcox,
Jan Arne Petersen, Jason Conti, Jason Taylor, Javon Harper, Jeff Tickle,
Jeff Wheeler, Jensen Somers, Jeroen Budts, Jo Shields, Johannes Koch,
Johannes Kuhn, John Millikin, Jonas Urth Olsen, Jordi Mas, Jorge Castro,
Julien Moutte, Juri Pakaste, Jan Sokoly, Jeremie Laval,
K. Vishnoo Charan Reddy, Ken Vandine, Kentaro KAZUHAMA, Kevin Anthony,
Kevin Duffus Koichi Akabe Konstantin Oshiyko Larry Ewing
Lauri Kotilainen, Lukas Lipka, Mackenan Grassi, Marcin Kolny, Marijn Ros,
Mark Busby, Mark Saunders, Martin Pitt, Matt Enright, Matt Sturgeon,
Michael Catanzaro, Michael Farrell, Michael Foster, Michael Kaiser,
Michael Martin-Smucker, Michael Monreal, Michael Monreal, Michal Sawicz,
Miguel de Icaza, Mike Gemunde, Mike Urbanski, Mirco Bauer,
Moritz Schallabock, Nathan Palmer, Neil Loknath, Nicholas Doyle,
Nicholas Little, Nicholas Parker, Nicolo Chieffo, Nils Naumann,
Nuno Araujo, Oben Sonne, Okano Takayoshi, Olivier Dufour, Oscar Forero,
Pacho Ramos, Patrick van Staveren, Paul Cutler, Paul Lange, Pavel Antonov,
Pavol Babincak, Pepijn van de Geer, Pete Johanson, Peter de Kraker,
Phil Trimble, Pratik Patel, Przemyslaw Grzegorczyk, Raimo Radczewski,
Rashid Khan, Robin Stocker, Roderich Schupp, Rodney Dawes,
Romain Tartiere, Ruben Vermeersch, Ryan Collier, Samuel Gyger,
Sandy Armstrong, Scott Peterson, Sebastian Droge, Shaun McCance,
Sjoerd Simons, Stephan Sundermann, Tim Fisken, Tim Yamin, Timo Dorr,
Timothy Arceri, Tobias Arrskog, Tobias Mueller, Todd Berman,
Tomasz Maczynski, Travis Glenn Hansen, Travis Patterson, Travis Reitter,
Trey Ethridge, Udesh Liyanaarachchi, Valentin Sawadski, Victor Vargas,
Will Farrington, Will Thompson William Friesen William Pettersson
We welcome new contributors to our community – developers and translators as well as artists, writers, and support experts.